you said you could read me like a book

but you forgot to read the fine prints

getting wrapped in past madras prints

that you throw like a boxer shaking off a hook

you said you could read me like a book

but you forgot to use in-book data

preferring dogma that dont matter

turning chaste words into spook

you said you could read me like a book

from front page to back page

but you forgot the dedication page

it says ‘with heart wide open’ – did you look

you said you could read me like a book

yet every word read is in reference to other books

shelving this open book with dead-ptolemaic books

in aisles where the living should not look

you said you could read me like a book

then read me without barb-wired hands

read me without land-mined skin and hands

holding me scaredly like a steve sheikin book

you said you could read me like a book

know – like the reader needs time to understand

 and know – book reader – to understand

a book – you need to read the book

well this open book is yet unclosed

but read it unlike well-thumbed dog-eared books

braille – unlike rote dog-eared books

is for those whose hearts are not closed.

fkregieblog 2016